Skip to primary content


The Department of Neurology is a clinical department receiving adults, both in-patients as well as outpatients

Marianne Gehring

Head Nurse Head of Department


+45 65 41 34 24

Michael Øttinger

Head of Department Consultant


+45 65 41 24 76

The Department of Neurology is a clinical department receiving adults, both in-patients as well as outpatients. The department comprises four units: general neurology, stroke unit, clinical physiology and the clinical & translational research department. The neurological department primarily serves within areas of acute and elective patient admissions, outpatient clinic, having neurological specialities within the fields of headache, epilepsy, multiple sclerosis, movement disorder, peripheral nervous system disorders, brain tumors and stroke. The department teaches medical students in affiliation with University of Southern Denmark and is fully accredited by the Danish quality assurance organization.

Activities include acute neurological diagnostic workup and treatment, acute thrombolysis and thrombectomy 24/7, provides consultation service to the hospital, neurological rehabilitation at a specially designated unit. The department has a fully equipped patient hotel floor, sponsoring neurological admissions and outpatient service 5 days a week, including fast-track diagnostic workup, immunoglobulin administration, neurological physical and cognitive rehabilitation for mainly stroke and neuro-oncology etc. The department receives patients from hospitals and general practitioners on the island of Funen and surrounding minor islands, as well as the Region of Southern Denmark (1.2 million inhabitants).

  • Stroke (epidemiology, treatment)
  • Pain (epidemiology, diagnosis and treatment)
  • Epilepsy (genetics, pharmacology)
  • Peripheral neuropathies
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Migraine
  • Myastenia Gravis
  • Parkinsons disease
  • Dementia
The staff employees 230
The department in-house beds 69
Acute admissions yearly 4000
Outpatients yearly 19.300